Case Study

Adopting modular integrated construction (MiC)

The Group has been developing prefabricated construction technology for over 20 years and is one of the leaders in the industry. In this year, it has diligently applied MiC to embrace the revolutionary future of the construction industry.

In recent years, the construction industry in Hong Kong has faced many challenges, including high construction costs, labour shortages, an ageing workforce, and increasing demands for quality, safety and environmental protection. The adoption of MiC technology can alleviate these difficulties by shifting most of the workflow from the construction site to the factory, with the following steps.

There are many advantages of MiC technology compared to tradition construction. This includes:

Because of the multiple advantages mentioned above, the Group believes that MiC technology is a major trend in the future construction industry and will drive the Group’s sustainability in terms of business operation, project quality, construction safety, environmental protection and carbon reduction. The Group’s subsidiary, China State Hailong Construction Technology Company Limited (“CS Hailong”), has six production bases for prefabricated buildings in Mainland China. The modules produced by the production base in Zhuhai have helped complete several epidemic prevention projects in Hong Kong within a very short construction period, among which the Temporary Quarantine Facilities at Lei Yue Mun was the first project in Hong Kong to use MiC.

The Group has been sparing no efforts to promote MiC technology. It has participated in video sharing meetings organised by the Architectural Services Department, seminars on transitional housing organised by the Transport and Housing Bureau, and consultation sessions organised by the Construction Industry Training Authority. In addition, a number of site visits have been arranged by the Group for industry professionals. From the delivery of relatively simple quarantine facilities to negative pressure wards in the hospital, the Group has successfully mastered the most advanced MiC technology and laid a solid foundation for its future business development.

Looking ahead, it is expected that MiC technology will help alleviate the tight supply and high cost of housing in Hong Kong. The Group will continue to promote the application of MiC and enhance the performance of sustainability. It is willing to work with all parties to fight the epidemic, build a better society and create a better life together.

Smart Construction Site Platform

The Group has established a smart construction site platform with increasingly mature and comprehensive technology for construction projects. The one-stop platform collects data from all aspects of the construction sites, including facial and license plate recognition at the entrance gates, wireless video surveillance, and environmental monitoring. It integrates information technologies such as spatial positioning, Internet of Things, big data, cloud computing, artificial intelligence and mobile devices to achieve real-time data integration and analysis, trend prediction and early warning for project overview, personnel management, construction progress, quality management and safety management. It also provides data support for project decision-making, proposes intelligent solutions to problems and imposes work efficiency.


A smart construction site for Temporary Hospital in Hong Kong


A smart construction site platform for Macau Cotai Healthcare Complex

  • With the use of Augmented Reality (“AR”) technology for mobile devices, the Group can display BIM models in detail at the construction sites, supporting various tasks such as inspection and acceptance of prefabricated components, problem identification and remediation of finishes, inspection of E&M installations and future maintenance.
  • At the same time, the Group’s use of virtual reality (“VR”) technology facilitates project design by allowing designers and engineers to connect to the same model in different locations. VR enables them to see real design effects in virtual space, discuss and make real-time changes, or compare multiple options.
  • The Group developed a real-time worker monitoring system, with sensors on the helmets. It uses Bluetooth technology to monitor and automatically record the distribution and duration of workers in various areas of the construction sites, helping to manage, analyse and deploy workers on-site and report on their performance. It was used to monitor the number of workers in each area of the construction site during the peak of the outbreak to avoid excessive gathering of workers and control the risk of infection. In case a worker is diagnosed, it can also help track his or her close contacts, isolate relevant personnel and identify key work areas for disinfection.

The Radio Frequency Identification (“RFID”) Technology

Due to the difficulty of identifying prefabricated components and MiC building components by appearance alone, it is necessary to adopt technological solutions to record component information and coordinate the work of different personnel in different geographic areas and times. RFID technology does not require direct contact or imaging, and can penetrate the coverings and the components themselves. It is easy to read and durable, making it suitable for component identification. The technology can be applied to the whole life cycle of component, from production, inspection, shipment, transportation to installation and consequently improve the management efficiency, making it an important technology for construction industrialisation.

Building Information Modeling (BIM)

At the “Celebration of BIM Achievement 2020” held by the Construction Industry Council, CSHK’s Related Case 4 APM and BHS Tunnel on Existing Airport Island, Tseung Kwan O Desalination Plant Stage I, and Relocation of Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works to Caverns were recognised as “BIM Projects 2020”. The Group’s innovative contribution and achievements in the adoption of building information modelling were recognised by the industry when it took up three out of the ten BIM Projects.

In addition, CSC Macau won the tender for the Construction of the Main Structures of the Cotai Healthcare Complex (the “Cotai Hospital”). With the decision of adopting high technology such as BIM to overcome the difficulties of the project, deepen the design and guide the construction, CSC Macau quickly set up a professional team to establish and integrate relevant architectural, structural and electromechanical models. Through 3D modelling, all parties involved in the project can have a more intuitive and profound understanding of the design intent and construction difficulties, and detect design problems and collision conflicts at an early stage, thus improving the quality of the project. BIM enables multi-disciplinary online collaborative design and operation, reducing file transfer and improving design efficiency. It can also simulate the construction schedule and approach to help arrange and optimise the construction plan. By breaking through paperbased technical briefings, BIM improves communication and construction management efficiency with 3D visualisation. The effective application of BIM technology in the Cotai Hospital has been recognised by the industry and received the Grand Award (Offshore Category) at the Hong Kong Institute of Building Information Modelling Award 2020.

  • Macau Cotai Hospital BIM Model

案例故事

採用組裝合成建築法

集團發展裝配式建築技術超過二十年,是業內的領導品牌之一,2020年更大力應用組裝合成建築法,迎接建造業革命性的未來。

香港建造業近年面臨多項挑戰,包括建造成本高昂、勞動力不足及工人老齡化,以及越來越高的質量、安全與環保等要求。採用MiC技術,可以把大部份本來在工地的工序轉移至廠房,緩解上述提到的困難,步驟大致如下:

MiC技術比傳統建築有多種優勢,其中包括:

由於具備以上多重優勢,集團視MiC技術為建造業未來的重大趨勢,並以此推動集團在業務經營、工程質量、施工安全及環保低碳等各方面的可持續發展。集團附屬公司中國海龍建築科技有限公司(「中建海龍」),在內地有六個裝配式建築生產基地。珠海生產基地建造的模塊,助力香港在極短的工期內,建成多個防疫項目,其中鯉魚門緊急防疫隔離中心更是香港第一個落成的MiC項目。

集團為推廣MiC技術不遺餘力。集團參與建築署舉辦的視像分享會、運輸及房屋局過渡性房屋研討會、建造業訓練局的咨詢會議等,以及安排業界多次實地參觀交流。從較為簡單的隔離設施開始,到醫院負壓病房落成啟用,一路走來,見證集團成功掌握最先進的MiC技術,亦為未來業務發展奠定雄厚堅實的基礎。

展望未來,MiC技術可望協助香港紓解房屋供應緊張、成本高企等問題。集團亦會大力推動其採用,並不斷提升可持續發展表現。集團願與各方攜手合作,克服當下的疫情困境,共同建設社會,為幸福美好的生活奮鬥。

智慧工地平台

集團為建築項目設立智慧工地平台,技術已經日趨成熟完善。一站式的平台從工地各方面收集現場數據,包括入口閘機的人臉與車牌識別、無線攝像監控、環境監測等,整合空間定位、物聯網、大數據、雲計算、人工智能及移動設備等眾多資訊科技,對項目概况、人員管理、工程進度、質量管理、安全管理等多方面實現即時資料整合及分析、預測趨勢及預警,亦為項目決策提供數據支持,針對問題提出智能解決方案,提升工作效率。


香港臨時醫院智慧工地平台


澳門離島醫療設施智慧工地平台

  • 集團亦利用移動設備的擴增實境(AR)技術,將BIM模型在施工現場精細顯示,協助預製構件檢查驗收,裝飾裝修查漏補缺,機電工程安裝檢查以及日後維護等各項工作。
  • 同時,集團利用虛擬實景(VR)技術協助項目設計,讓設計師與工程師,可以在不同的地點連接入同一個模型,在虛擬空間看到真實的設計效果,互相討論,即時修改,或比較多個選項。
  • 為了在疫情期間避免過多工人聚集施工,集團研發工人實時監控系統,在安全帽上裝設感應器,利用藍牙技術,實時監測並自動記錄工人在工地各區的分佈與停留時間,控制感染風險;萬一有工人確診,亦可協助追蹤其密切接觸者,隔離相關人員及重點消毒工作區域。

RFID 技術

由於預制組件和MiC建築單元難以憑外觀辨認,因此有必要採用科技方案,記錄組件的相關信息,協調跨地域跨時間的不同人員 之間的工作。RFID技術不需要直接接觸或成像,可穿透遮蓋物及組件自身,而且方便讀取,耐久使用,適合用作組件的身份辨識。此技術運用在組件的生產、檢查、出貨、運送、安裝的全生命周期上,加強管理效率,是建築產業化當中的一項重要技術。

BIM 建築資訊模型

在香港建造業議會2020建築信息模擬成就嘉許禮,中建香港旗下機場島上旅客捷運列車及 相關案例四行李處理系統隧道工程、搬遷沙田污水處理廠往岩洞 — 工地開拓及連接隧道建造工程,和將軍澳海水化淡廠第一階段工程,獲嘉許為「2020建築信息模擬項目」,在十個建築項目中佔三個,體現集團在採用建築信息模擬上的創新貢獻及成就,得到業界的肯定。

此外,集團旗下公司中建澳門在離島醫療綜合體(「離島醫院」)主體建造工程中採用BIM建築信息模型,來攻克項目的難點,深化設計,指導施工。公司迅速組建了一支專業團隊,搭建整合相關建築、結構、機電模型。透過三維模型,項目參與各方能夠更加直觀和深刻的理解設計意圖和施工難點,及早發現設計問題及碰撞沖突,從而提高工程質量。BIM可實現多專業在線協同設計和作業,減省檔案往來,提高設計效率;BIM亦可模擬施工進度和方案,協助安排和優化施工計劃,與並突破傳統的紙面技術交底方式,以三維可視化提高溝通和施工管理效率。BIM技術在離島醫院的有效應用,得到了業界的認可,並榮獲2020年香港建築信息模擬學會BIM大獎賽境外組別金獎。

  • 澳門離島醫院BIM模型